Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five From Men's Soccer Honored by NECC

Five From Men's Soccer Honored by NECC

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Five members of the Mitchell College men's soccer program were honored by the New England Collegiate Conference on Tuesday afternoon as the league announced its annual awards.

Head coach Damian Houlden was named NECC Coach of the Year while junior TJ Condon and sophomore William Ferguson were selected to the all-conference first team. Junior Andrew Storton earned a spot on the all-conference second team and freshman Eduardo Tineo was selected to the all-sportsmanship team. All awards were determined by a vote of the conference's head coaches.

In his third season at the helm of the Mariners, Houlden led his squad to a 6-1-0 league record, which was good enough for a share of the regular season conference title. Mitchell went on to win the NECC Championship for the first time in school history, and will make its first appearance in the NCAA Championship this weekend.

Condon and Ferguson, both starting defenders and team captains, are repeat all-conference selections. The two have started all 18 games this season and helped the Mariners limit conference opponents to only seven goals in seven regular season games. Ferguson has scored three goals to go with one assist while Condon has recorded three assists.

Storton, a forward, led the Mariners in scoring with a career-best 11 goals for 22 points. The 11 goals are the most by a Mitchell men's soccer player in the school's 10-year Division III history. Five of his tallies came in league action, and two came in the NECC Championship in a semifinals win over Newbury College. It marked the second time in his career that he was named to the all-conference second team (2015).

Tineo has played in 15 games and made nine starts as a rookie midfielder. He has scored a pair of goals and recorded one assist, and this past weekend he was named to the all-championship team following Mitchell's victory in the title game.

Mitchell (9-8-1 overall) will play Saint Joseph's College (ME) on Saturday, November 11 at Tufts University in the first round of the 2017 NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Championship. Game time is set for 1 p.m. at Bello Field. Tickets ($6 adults, $3 students/seniors) can be purchased at the gate.

2017 NECC Awards

NECC Player of the Year – Babba Jaden, Elms (So., F, Clarkston, Ga.)
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Nathan Silveira, Dean (Fr., GK, East Providence, R.I.)
NECC Rookie of the Year – Felipe Campos, Dean (Fr., LW, Barnstable, Mass.)
NECC Coach of the Year – Damian Houlden, Mitchell

First Team All-NECC
F – Felipe Campos, Dean (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)
F – Nilton De Andrade, Newbury (So., Boston, Mass.)
F – Babba Jaden, Elms (So., Clarkston, Ga.)
F – Pepe Vieira, Dean (Sr., Brockton, Mass.)
M – Santiago Cardona, Dean (So., Revere, Mass.)
M – C.J. Dabkowski, Elms (Sr., Bristol, Conn.)
M – Kahlil Peters, Elms (Sr., Hartford, Conn.)
D – TJ Condon, Mitchell (Jr., North Stonington, Conn.)
D – William Ferguson, Mitchell (So., Old Lyme, Conn.)
D – Patrick Gomes, Wheelock (Fr., Lisbon, Portugal)
GK – Nathan Silveira, Dean (Fr., East Providence, R.I.)

Second Team All-NECC
F- Jared Lacoste, Southern Vermont (Fr., Arlington, Vt.)
F- Nuno Pereira, Lesley (Sr., Sao Filipe, Fogo, Cape Verde)
F- Andrew Storton, Mitchell (Jr., Oxford, England)
F- Anthony Vitta, Lesley (Sr., Oceanside, N.Y.)
M- Leemar Baptista, Becker (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)
M- Kevin Teixeira, Newbury (Sr., Boston, Mass.)
M- Jack Wadleigh, Lesley (Fr., Glastonbury, Conn.)
D – Ben Heischuber, Lesley (So., Holliston, Mass.)
D – Justin Kassouf, Elms (Sr., Milford, Conn.)
D – Cristiano Martins, Dean (Fr., Brockton, Mass.)
GK - Jordan Bernard, Wheelock (Sr., Westbrook, Conn.)

All-NECC Sportsmanship Team
Nathan Cornejo, Becker (Jr., Douglas, Mass.)
Brendan Pacheco, Dean (Jr., Fall River, Mass.)
Mike DiPasquale, Elms (Sr., Meriden, Conn.)
Andrew Medeiros, Lesley (So., Bristol, R.I.)
Eduardo Tineo, Mitchell (Fr., Waterford, Conn.)
Jose Palma, Newbury (Jr., Brookline, Mass.)
Lee Dennis, Southern Vermont (So., Chocorua, N.H.)
Matt Woolverton, Wheelock (Jr., Cumberland, Maine)