Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Still, McCormack Lead XC at NECC Championship

Still, McCormack Lead XC at NECC Championship

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- The Mitchell College men's and women's cross country teams competed at the 2017 New England Collegiate Conference Championship on Saturday afternoon at Stanley Park.

Mitchell finished sixth in both races. David Still (29:00.94) finished third overall in the men's 8k race to claim all-conference first team honors for the second straight season. He becomes just the third Mitchell runner to ever accomplish the feat in back-to-back years, joining Eric Appleby (2008, 2009) and John Hoffman (2009, 2010). It also marked the highest finish by a Mitchell runner since Sherif Ali won the race in 2011. Kate McCormack (25:01.19) paced the women's team and finished 25th overall in the 5k race.

Men's Race [Results]

For the fourth straight year the NECC men's cross country title belongs to Southern Vermont College. Three SVC runners placed in the top five, including 2017 NECC Runner of the Year Marc Brandmeyer (27:50:92). Brandmeyer took home the NECC ROY honors for fourth consecutive year, capping off a tremendous career in Bennington, Vt.

Former NECC Rookie of the Year Davante Smith (28:52:61) placed second while Still rounded out the top three. Newbury's Geralson Withrow (29:11.23) took home 2017 NECC Rookie of the Year honors after finishing fourth overall and first among rookie runners.

Joining Brandmeyer, Smith, Still and Withrow on All-NECC First Team were SVC's Caldwell Holden (29:53:40), Dean's Ryan Glynn (30:41.61) and Wheelock's Riley Cushing (31:01.26).

Finishing second in the NECC team standings was Wheelock College with a total of 58 points. The Wildcats placed two runners in the top 10 in Cushing and Colin Marie (31:15.56).
Rounding out the top 10 was Newbury's David Jean (31:16.60) and Rich Hernandez (31:18:68) from Elms College.

Wheelock's Wole Oke took home 2017 NECC Coach of the Year honors following his program's second place performance.

NECC All-Conference First Team
1. Marc Brandmeyer, Southern Vermont College
2. Davante Smith, Southern Vermont College
3. David Still, Mitchell College
4. Geralson Withrow, Newbury College
5. Caldwell Holden, Southern Vermont College
6. Ryan Glynn, Dean College
7. Riley Cushing, Wheelock College

NECC All-Conference Second Team
8. Colin Marie, Wheelock College
9. David Jean, Newbury College
10. Rich Hernandez, Elms College
11. Matt Alport, Dean College
12. Christ Genty, Wheelock College
13. Ross Rubin, Dean College
14. Mohamed Mohamed, Wheelock College

Women's Race [Results]

Lesley University took home the women's title for the first time since 2014 after placing five runners in top 10. Amy Bouchard (20:35.60) paced the champion Lynx with her second place finish while Alexandra Dimauro (20:56.60), Nicole Footer (21:09.67), Jordan Penny (21:24.10) and Julia Fagundes (21:47.23) each added top-eight efforts.

The 2017 NECC Runner of the Year honors went to Southern Vermont's Annika Kristiansen after finishing with a time of 20:10.89. Fagundes took home 2017 Rookie Runner of the Year honors while Lesley's Brendan Peltier took home 2017 NECC Coach of the Year honors.

Elm's Sarah Tatgenhorst (20:52.60) and Southern Vermont's Isabella Poulos (21:00.66) took home First Team All-Conference honors following their third- and fifth-place finishes, respectively.

Finishing second in the NECC team standings was Elms with a total of 57 points. The Blazers placed five runners in the top 18 including Keara Moulton (22:58.85/ 13th overall), Tyana Medina (23:21.44) and Tatgenhorst.

NECC All-Conference First Team
1. Annika Kristiansen, Southern Vermont College
2. Amy Bouchard, Lesley University
3. Sarah Tatgenhorst, Elms College
4. Alexandra Dimauro, Lesley University
5. Isabella Poulos, Southern Vermont College
6. Nicole Footer, Lesley University
7. Jordan Penny, Lesley University

NECC All-Conference Second Team
8. Jula Fagundes, Lesley University
9. Alexa Tivey, Wheelock College
10. Emma Wilson, Wheelock College
11. Beth Caronna, Lesley University
12. Anne Cooper, Lesley University
13. Keara Mouton, Elms College
14. Tyana Medina, Elms College