Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

WLAX Trio Garners All-Conference Recognition

WLAX Trio Garners All-Conference Recognition

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – Three members of the Mitchell College women's lacrosse team were named to New England Collegiate Conference all-conference teams on Tuesday afternoon, as announced by the league in its release of annual awards.

Senior Kate McCormack earned a spot on the first team while classmate Francesca Pinard and sophomore Hannah Corrigan each landed on the second team. All awards were determined by a vote of the league's head coaches.

McCormack, an all-conference selection a year ago, was one of four midfielders named to the first team. She led the Mariners and ranked third in the league in scoring with 23 goals and six assists in six NECC contests. She also ranked fifth in caused turnovers (14), sixth in draw controls (24) and 10th in ground balls (21).

In 11 regular season games McCormack racked up career highs of 43 goals, seven assists and 50 points. She also became the program's all-time leader in ground balls, scooping up 36 to raise her career total to 122.

Pinard was also a repeat all-conference selection, earning one of four midfield spots on the second team. In six league games she ranked second on the team in scoring with nine goals and a team-high 12 assists. Her 24 grounds balls also paced the Mariners in NECC action.

Pinard has played in 11 games and recorded 15 goals and 17 assists for a career-high 32 points. The 17 assists are the most in a single season in the program's six-year history, and her career total (26) in the category also ranks atop the record book.

Corrigan notched all-conference honors for the first time in her career. She was one of three defenders named to the second team. In six league games she put together 10 goals and four assists for 14 points, and she scooped up 22 ground balls while causing six turnovers.

Corrigan has played in 11 games and ranks third on the team in scoring with 15 goals and four assists for 19 points. She leads the team in ground balls (38) while adding 22 draw controls and 15 caused turnovers.

Sophomore Lindsey Fairbank rounded out Mitchell's award recipients by being named to the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team. She played in 11 games and ranked fourth on the team in scoring with 10 goals and three assists for 13 points.

Mitchell is seeded sixth in the 2019 NECC Championship and will face fourth-seeded Elms today at 7:00 p.m. in the first round.

2019 NECC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Awards

NECC Player of the Year – Tara Bainbridge, New England College (Sr., A, South Hadley, Mass.)
NECC Goalkeeper of the Year – Nikolle Storey, Becker (Sr., GK, Cumberland, Maine)
NECC Rookie of the Year – Clare Conway, Becker
NECC Coach of the Year – Ashley Mossey, Becker

All-Conference First Team
A – Tara Bainbridge, New England College
A – Clare Conway, Becker
A – Alana Scott, New England College
A – Vanessa Vurno, Elms
M – Haley Richard, Elms
M – Cassandra Nelson, Becker
M – Kate McCormack, Mitchell
M – Lauren Rich, New England College
D – Kylian Kelly, Becker
D – Kaitlyn Berry, New England College
D.- Giuliana Kevlin, New England College
GK – Nikolle Storey, Becker

All-Conference Second Team
A – Julia Ravenelle, Becker
A – Arianna Calouro, Becker
A – Sofia Castriotta, New England College
A – Reilly Jodoin, Elms
M – Alex Safford, Southern Vermont
M – Tailor Chapin, New England College
M – Francesca Pinard, Mitchell
M – Megan McKenna, Bay Path
D – Hannah Corrigan, Mitchell
D – Erienne Dowe, Elms
D.- Alyssa Barnes, Elms
GK – Emily Huber, Elms

2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team
Alyssa Tursi, New England College
Caitlin Esposito, Bay Path
Sydney Theriault, Becker
Brooke Chisholms, Elms
Lindsey Fairbank, Mitchell
Jess Foley, Southern Vermont
Maggie Pomeroy, Dean